Scientific Advisory Board

Richard C Boucher MD

Dr Richard C Boucher MD

Dr Boucher is currently the James Moeser Eminent Professor of Medicine and Director of the Marsico Lung Institute and the University of North Carolina CF Centre at Chapel Hill. Dr Boucher is a world leading expert in airway epithelial biology and respiratory disease and remains a practising physician. An author of over 500 scientific publications and numerous issued patents, Ric has also founded multiple companies pursuing novel therapeutics for respiratory disease.

Jane Davies MB Chb

Dr Jane Davies MB Chb

Dr Davies is Professor of Paediatric Respirology & Experimental Medicine at the National Heart and Lung Institute (NHLI) and an Honorary Consultant in Paediatric Respiratory Medicine at the Royal Brompton & Harefield NHS Foundation Trust. Dr Davies is actively engaged in CF translational research for both small molecule and gene therapy approaches and is an expert in both clinical trial design and validation of outcome measures.

Luis Galietta

Dr Luis Galietta

Dr Galietta is a group leader of the Molecular Genetics Laboratory at the Institute Giannina Gaslini, in Genoa, Italy. Dr Galietta has considerable expertise in epithelial ion channel pharmacology and drug discovery. Dr Galietta has >100 peer reviewed publications including one of the first papers identifying TMEM16A as the calcium-dependent chloride channel in epithelia.

Wisia Wedzicha MB, FMedSci,

Dr Wisia Wedzicha MB, FMedSci

Professor Wedzicha is Professor of Respiratory Medicine at the National Heart and Lung Institute, Imperial College, UK. Dr Wedzicha has a major interest in the causes, mechanisms, impact and prevention of chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD) exacerbations, and in the role of bacterial and viral infection in COPD exacerbations. Professor Wedzicha was a member of the Guideline Development Group for the revision of the National Institute for Healthcare and Clinical Excellence COPD Guidelines. Professor Wedzicha was Editor-in-Chief of Thorax from 2002 to 2010, Lancet Ombudsman till 2014 and is currently Editor in Chief for the American Journal of Respiratory and Critical Care Medicine.